Wry Exchange


Pretend he’s a Labrador Puppy
08-05-07, 12:19 pm
Filed under: Culture, Exchange Students | Tags: , , ,

Lab are Fur ChildrenWe had one boy who reminded me of a Labrador.   He was a great kid, just really immature, and full of energy.

  • Super friendly, wanted to please people
  • Could not look without touching
  • Short attention span, couldn’t sit still
  • Loads of energy
  • Sweet natured, happy, optimistic.
  • Usually in trouble, without understanding why
  • Ate everything
  • He heard ‘no, no, no’ frequently as well as ‘Did you do that?’
  • Selective English comprehension

I treated him like a Lab sometimes.  (Look, it’s an analogy. I didn’t smack his nose with my finger.)  I made certain I had his attention before I spoke.  I used ‘small words, short sentences.’  I repeated myself as needed.  I didn’t expect too much improvement too fast.  

Yes, I realize I’m not a nice person.

Lab graphic from the store http://www.8pawsup.com/

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

