Wry Exchange


Wry’s going to Santa Cruz, Bolivia
10-31-07, 10:58 am
Filed under: Culture, Home | Tags: ,

  I’m going to Bolivia.  It’s unexpected, I’ve been planning on going to Chile next month.   My counterpart in Bolivia has been promising to ‘send me a ticket’ for 3 years.  This time, she meant it.  They use frequent flyer miles to bring 2 volunteers a year to Santa Cruz to show them how they run their program.  (I felt better about accepting the ticket when I found out it was frequent flyer miles, not money.)  Not many US students want to go to Bolivia, so they want to show the adults their country is safe, modern, and a great place to live.  The country interests me.  I’ve taken an extra Bolivian or 2 each year for the last 4 years. (Extras are fine as long as you can place all the regular exchanges first.)  In 5 years, we’ve only sent 4 kids to Bolivia.  The kids have been great exchange students. 
I’ll stay with 2 of my former students.   One is turning 21, and the other is going to turn 18 and graduate from high school while I’m there.   I miss the 18 year old tremendously, and will be happy to see him.  It’s so cool, he’s sending me advice.    you´ve been advicing kids what to teke t usa for like 20 years ow is your turn… bring a light coat for when ever get rainy a sweet shirt and a lot o tshirts tank tops and shorts,…. im taking y to the place i promisse so its gonna be very humid and warrm.
Earlier this month, American Airlines suspended operations in Bolivia.  From UK’s Guardian website: Bolivia’s busiest airport became the scene of protest last night after a local governor urged residents to demonstrate against a military takeover.
Santa Cruz governor Ruben Costas urged residents of the province to hold an overnight vigil at Viru Viru airport in protest against its military occupation, which began on Thursday following a dispute over landing fees.
Viru Viru airport in Santa Cruz – Bolivia’s wealthiest province – was seized by armed forces in an operation that left two soldiers injured. Several hundred Santa Cruz residents then responded by attempting to crash through the facility’s gates with cries of “The airport belongs to Santa Cruz!”
The military was called to the airport after workers detained a Miami-bound American Airlines plane, carrying 140 passengers, on the runway on Tuesday. The workers were demanding the airline pay landing fees of up to US$2,000  in cash locally, rather than deposit the fees with the federal airport authority.
I love South America.  I’ve never been to Bolivia before.  I’m excited.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

