Wry Exchange


Host Family Gifts & Wry the Pack Mule
11-09-07, 11:21 pm
Filed under: Culture, Exchange Students, Home | Tags: , , , ,

 Exchange students must take a number of gifts to present to certain people.  The ‘ceremonial’ gifts go to their counselor, their first host family, the person who set up the exchange, and the President of the program’s parent group.  (I put ceremonial in parentheses because it’s not quite that formal, but the gifts are expected.)

I thought of this because I’m taking gifts to Bolivia with me.  I’ll write a post for different countries later on this year after I ask some of the FES’s to help me out with gift ideas.

I have 2 suitcases, and I’ll try to stay within the 50 pound weight limit.    I am taking a ton of candy-Costco sizes of Dumdum suckers, Cow Tales, 2 bags fun-sized Snickers and Milky Way mix, Pixie Stix, and then smaller bags of candy corn, Reese’s Cups, gummy worms, and about 10 10-packs of Polar Ice chewing gum.  I have 6 bottles of anti-bacterial liquid soap from Bath and Body Works, and about 10 of their various travel sized mini products.  I have 9 Victoria’s Secret lip-glosses, 6 small colognes, tote-bag, several splashes and lotions, and some other makeup.  I am taking various scented soaps and candles, Christmas ornaments, clay coasters, 3 photo books about my state, 6 pairs of short sport socks, tech deck toy skateboards, candle holders, the car radio, a digital camera, tennis racket, huge TOEFL workbook, weird tasting Harry Potter Jelly Bellies, ball caps, t-shirts, sweatshirt, Jack Daniel’s, US wines, gold jewelry for 3 special gifts, and some small oddities like Gorilla Glue, Udder cream, measuring cup and spoons, silicone hot-pads, and gel comfort pads for high heels.  I have 20 small gift bags and tissue paper to give the gifts.   I KNOW I’ll forget something.  Oh, and 2 other people are giving me stuff to take down for them, too.

If there is any room left, I’ll toss in a pair of shorts and and a change of underwear. Maybe sunscreen, too.  Wish me luck.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds great! Have fun!

Comment by janis

[…] Wry added an interesting post on Host Family Gifts & Wry the Pack Mule.Here’s a small excerpt:Exchange students must take a number of gifts to present to certain people. The ‘ceremonial’ gifts go to their counselor, their first host family, the person who set up the exchange, and the President of the program’s parent group. … […]

Pingback by www.christmasforallofus.info » Host Family Gifts & Wry the Pack Mule

[…] Wry added an interesting post today on Host Family Gifts & Wry the Pack Mule.Here’s a small reading:… ball caps, t-shirts, sweatshirt, Jack Daniel’s, US wines, gold jewelry for 3 special gifts, and some small oddities like Gorilla Glue, Udder cream, measuring cup and spoons, silicone hot-pads, and gel comfort pads for high heels. … […]

Pingback by www.topjewelryforyou.info » Host Family Gifts & Wry the Pack Mule




Leave a Reply

