Wry Exchange


Why Go to Bolivia?
12-02-07, 2:24 am
Filed under: Culture, Home | Tags: , ,

 What should I tell potential outbound exchange students considering South America?  Why should they choose Bolivia over Argentina, Brasil, or Chile?  What makes Bolivia a great choice?    I’m not sure.   It’s not at all what I thought it would be like. I am well-travelled, this isn’t my first or even my twenty-first trip out of the states.  I haven’t fallen in love with Bolivia the way I have with Chile or The Netherlands.  I’m not sure that I even really like it.  I don´t think I’d return if I didn’t love Sparky and want to see him.   I’m glad he doesn’t read my blog.  

People from Santa Cruz are fiercely proud of their city.  They identify themselves as Cruceños or Cambas, not as Bolivians.   My program only exchanges with Santa Cruz, we don’t do Cochabamba or La Paz.  Santa Cruz is supposed to be the most sophisticated, modern city in Bolivia.  I haven’t been to La Paz or Cochabamba, so I can’t agree or disagree.   I do like the way the FES program is handled here in Santa Cruz.  They take care of the kids, and offer many free trips to see the country.  I trust them, and enjoy working with them.  They also screen their students very well.  All of the Bolivian students have done well in my area.

I have four days left to find answers.  Wish me well.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Why Go to Bolivia?By WryWhy should they choose Bolivia over Argentina, Brasil, or Chile? What makes Bolivia a great choice? I’m not sure. It’s not at all what I thought it would be like. I am well-travelled, this isn’t my first or even my twenty-first trip out …Wry Exchange – https://wryexchange.wordpress.com […]

Pingback by Countries News » Blog Archive » Why Go to Bolivia?

I’ve been to Bolivia 3 Times, and hope to return again! (Even with all of the turmoil). If you don’t mind me asking, why only Santa Cruz?

Comment by Renfield8

I’m intrigued; be sure to post when you get a chance about why you think you aren’t liking Bolivia so much, at least compared to other South American countries.

Comment by Linzey

I just got home, and have been thinking for the entire trip home. I gave away my books, magazines, and Ipod, so I didn’t have much else to do. 😉 I was in Santa Cruz as a guest of my program. As this was my initial visit to Bolivia, I concentrated more on people than places. If and when I return, then I’ll travel to learn more about the country. I want to see La Paz and Cochabamba to learn, and Potosi because it’s history fascinates me. The weather and uncertaincy about protests and militarization deterred travel as well.

Comment by Wry




Leave a Reply

