Wry Exchange


Shopping in Chile
01-19-08, 1:26 am
Filed under: Home | Tags: , , ,

 I seem to be getting a lot of people searching for clothing styles, shopping, and household products in Chile.  More and more, shopping in Chile is just like shopping in a mall near you in the states.  I’d rather shop in smaller stores and markets, but I love to shop and hunt for the perfect gift.  I’m also cheap.   TJMaxx isn’t in Chile.
 Department stores: Falabella, Paris, Ripley
Superstore: Jumbo  (I adore Jumbo.  I’m sure I’ve written about my Jumbo jones already.)
Virtual mall, Real Mall
 US stores also in Chile:
Fast Food: McDonald’s, Pizza Hut, Burger King, KFC, Au Bon Pan, Taco Bell, Domino’s, Subway, and Starbucks.
Restaurants: Applebee’s, Tony Roma’s, Bennigan’s, Hooter’s, TGI Friday’s,  and Ruby Tuesday.
Clothing Stores:  Nautica, Tommy Hilfiger, Hush Puppy, Laura Ashley, Polo Ralph Lauren, Esprit, and Calvin Klein.  Chile stores will also sell other US clothing brands like DKNY that don’t necessarily have stand-alone stores.
Also: Radio Shack, Curves, and Blockbuster.  
I’ve been able to find most US brands of cosmetics and personal care items.  I buy them for my former exchange students, while I like to try the local brands for myself.  It’s fun to try hybrid products.  I found lemon scented Kleenex in Bolivia, and oddly flavored Lay’s potato chips in Chile.
These lists are not complete, they’re just the ones I thought of tonight.  Feel free to add more stores in comments.

PS: This is my 200th post.  Yay, me.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Original post by Wry […]

Pingback by Deja Cart » Shopping in Chile




Leave a Reply

