Wry Exchange


Abortion, Part 2
02-15-08, 1:07 am
Filed under: Home | Tags: , , ,

  At first I was going to write about abortion laws in the US.  If a political candidate will not protect abortion rights, I can not vote for that candidate.  I care about the deficit, civil liberties, and health care, but abortion rights is my only ‘deal-breaker’ issue.   I’ve joined pro-choice marches in Washington, DC twice, once with my mother, and once with Husband.  
I remember when Roe v Wade was announced, it didn’t really change anything unless you had lots of money and lived in a big city.  I remember female relatives talking about getting ‘shots’ from their doctors to ‘bring on their periods.’  I also have an old copy of ‘Our Bodies, Our Selves’ that had do it yourself abortion information in it.  
I’ve never had an abortion, but I strongly believe in a woman’s right to choose.  I know it’s a gut-wrenching decision.  I helped a woman get an abortion once.   The clinic was on lock-down because of protesters.  The women and men working at the clinic were very caring.  The experience stayed with me for about three years.  It was terrible, but it WAS THE RIGHT DECISION.   I don’t believe she aborted a baby, but I was cognizant it had the potential to be a baby.
Since this is an exchange student blog, I thought I’d write about abortion in another country.  I’ve had conversations with women in Chile, and they’ve reminded me of the bad old days here.  Women whisper of kindly doctors, women who know how to do abortions, trips to Disney with a secret stop at a clinic, or women who’ve lost their fertility due to botched abortions.  
A day later, and I still want to share my view.  Abortions should be safe, legal, and as rare as possible.  No one else gets to tell a woman what she can do with her own body.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pro-lifer coming in peace, here.

Would you mind explaining in more detail, maybe, why you do not believe it is a baby yet? That’s the question that haunts me… I mean, I would have to be CERTAIN I’m not killing someone. That’s not really something I can guess about.

You actually have expressed your belief on it, which is more than I can say for half the people I talk to about this. But I don’t think it’s a question people can overlook.

Comment by Alex

I believe that at 6-7 weeks, it’s still a collection of cells that are no bigger than a grain of rice. I know that the nervous and circulatory systems are forming, but to me, it’s not yet a baby. It has the potential to be a baby. I think my point was it was a lot easier for me to be pro-choice when it was an abstract idea. Do I think it’s not a baby so I can sleep at night? Not at all. I was sad for ‘what could’ve been’ in a perfect world. How many people ever have to test their beliefs? I think I did, and I still believe abortion must be legally and safely available.

Comment by Wry




Leave a Reply

