Wry Exchange


Home Update
03-06-08, 1:10 am
Filed under: Depression, Exchange Students, Home | Tags: , , , , ,

 This is my second attempt at this post.  The first one disappeared just as I finished it.  Grr.
*I took BadLab and GoodDobie for a walk yesterday in the beautiful sunshine.  The snow and ice melted off enough so I could safely wranglewalk the beasts.  They were so excited to go on the first walk of the year, they were bouncing around like puppies. (BadLab is five, and the Doberman is probably 10.  They each weigh about 90lbs.)  The prissy one had to stay on dry pavement at all times, and the rambunctious one splashed in puddles, and climbed snowbanks.  Then they came home and slept and freakin’ snored for the rest of the day and night.
*Husband is working on the tank as weather permits.  We’ve bought some of the parts from eBay, including the radiator.  The radiator was new in box, and less than half the price than anywhere else.  Shipping was only ten dollars, too!  She’s almost ready to go back on the road.
*Sparky is finishing his first month at college.  He’s studying Electronic Engineering.  His school days are about 10 hours long, plus commute.
*P worked at a call center during his Summer Vacation.  He hated it, but made very good money.  P had to speak to 58 people daily.  The results of the call didn’t matter as long as he talked to 58 warm bodies.  He worked 55 hours a week, but now is in Buenos Aires on vacation with four of his exchange student friends for a mini-reunion.  It’s P, 2 Argentines, a German, and one from the states.  We’re in touch with all of them, and love P and the Gringo dearly.
*Want grossed out?  Stomach flu is a viral infection that affects the stomach and small intestine. It is also called viral gastroenteritis.  Many different viruses can cause gastroenteritis, including rotaviruses, adenoviruses, and the Norwalk virus. Gastroenteritis is caused by swallowing one of these viruses.  And then we have this Researchers at the University of Arizona who tested all kinds of public surfaces. They found that shopping carts were loaded with more saliva, bacteria and even fecal matter than escalators, public telephones, and even public bathrooms.  I went shopping with a cart last week, stopped at a SteaknShake drive-thru, ate the fries, and licked the salt off.  Guess who got stomach flu?  I ALWAYS use wet wipes too, but I couldn’t find them, and the fries were calling me.  I squicked myself out on that one.
*I’ve been on Effexor for about a month now.  I feel better; more even-keeled. See Boo to Wellbutrin and my other drug post.  I can think more clearly and calmly now.   I never realize how bad I get until it’s over. 
*Husband and I searched everywhere for a digital photo frame for my mother’s Christmas gift.  We found one, and thought she’d love it.  It’s still in the box.  We bought one that was easy to use, didn’t need a computer, etc.  Why won’t she use it?  ‘”They” can steal your information.’  Um, WTF?  I haven’t talked with her about this, Husband couldn’t get her to understand it’s not hooked up to anything, it’s a picture frame, and what info could anyone get?   Well, their computer arrived last week, and Husband set it up.  I’m supposed to give them internet lessons.  Won’t that be fun?  Mom’s pissed at Husband because he bought her XP instead of Vista.  Not that she knows what either of them are, or what they do.    I’ll be doubling up on the happy pills.
* Husband and I have always liked and followed Patrick Swayze’s career.  We wish him well.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

