Wry Exchange


Nineteen, Twenty
04-23-08, 11:54 pm
Filed under: Home | Tags: ,

 This week’s blog tour topic is “When and how did you know you had become a woman/man?  Not just an adult, but the title of Woman/Man?  Where are you still a child?”   I like having an assigned topic because it gets me out of my comfort zone.  This isn’t a topic I’d ever think to write about.

Sooo, what’s the difference between being an adult and being a woman?   Sex?  Um, I actually don’t remember how old I was the first time I had sex.  Told you I have a terrible memory!  Yes, I remember who.   What else? Menstruation?  Sprouting a bosom?  When men first whistled?  If I would’ve had a Bat Mitzvah or Quinceañera, I’d have an easy answer.  Unfortunately, I’m not Jewish or Latina.

I’m going to go with age 19/20.  We married way too young.  I told my mother I was getting married, and she just said “No.”  Five months later we married, and she asked for my house key back since I didn’t live there anymore.  She “didn’t want every Tom, Dick, and Harry to have a key.”  (Our family was 2 kids, 2 parents.)  Husband became guardian of his aged aunt, even though his parents, grandparents, and aunts all lived nearby.  Husband’s father broke Husband’s eardrum, Husband’s mom stole Husband’s identity.  Husband was seriously injured in a ditch cave-in.  And much more drama I’m not comfortable sharing.   Husband and I grew up together our first year, and still are madly in love.

Where am I still a child?  Don’t ever get between cotton candy and me, especially purple or blue.  I don’t like my toes to hang off the bottom of the bed because something may grab them.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

