Wry Exchange


Blog Tour-5-Fictional
05-08-08, 12:01 am
Filed under: Home | Tags: ,

This week’s Topic is “IF I COULD STEP INTO THE LIFE OF ANY FICTIONAL CHARACTER (BOOK, MOVIE, TV) I WOULD CHOOSE ___ BECAUSE ___.”

~Sigh~ I don’t know.  I don’t put myself into the story when I view or read. 

 I love to read, but I can’t think of any character I want to be.  I’d like to have dinner with some of them, but that’s about it.  I’d like to meet Biff, from Christopher Moore’s Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal.  Biff is ‘Joshua’s’ best friend, and is along for the missing years.  One of my favorite scenes is when Lazarus won’t come out of his tomb after he was resurrected because “I’m all icky.”  Another one is Joshua giggling about bunnies while drunk, and decreed that whenever something bad happens to him from then on, bunnies will be around.  That’s where the Easter bunny came from.  It’s a smart funny book.  I’ve bought over a half dozen copies because we keep lending them out.

In TV or  movies, I can’t come up with anyone without a ‘but.’  I could be James Bond for a while until I ran out of adrenaline, but not a Bond Girl.  They don’t have long lifespans.  I could live with being Lt. Uhura, but not the random Star Trek crewmember in the transporter that won’t last past the next commercial.  I could be Dana Scully from The X-files without the pregnant by aliens part.   Ooh, and Dr. Temperance Brennan from Bones-she counts as a book and TV character.  Not sure about the living in foster homes part.  I can’t forget Samantha from Bewitched, but Darren was a booger.  And Jeannie, but she had to be subservient and live in that damn bottle.

If I must choose, I’ll pick the charactor of Stephen Colbert from The Colbert Report.  I like politics and snark, then I could go home and be myself.  Mission accomplished!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

