Wry Exchange


My Salsa Recipe
05-14-08, 9:25 pm
Filed under: Home | Tags: , ,

 My husband gave my mother my salsa recipe several years ago.  She used the recipe Sunday, but it “didn’t taste like yours, Wry.”   Hmm, could it be she didn’t follow the super-easy recipe?  Nah, she had it right there-showed me how she did it.  She just made a few ‘small’ substitutions such as chopping by hand instead of using a food processor, and maybe adding a ‘little bit’ more onion. Oh, and the following:

Wry Recipe

WryMom Recipe

Fresh Tomatoes

Canned Tomatoes

Fresh Lime Juice

ReaLemon Lime Juice

A Few Jalapeños

½ Tomatoes, ½ Jalapeños

Cubanelle Peppers

Fresh Cilantro

Brown Cilantro flakes

Well, you cannot argue with your mother on Mother’s Day.  I passed, but Husband and WryDad gamely tried some.  Husband says it tastes like Jalapeño relish.  WryDad is probably still coughing.   I’ll make some and take it over to them in a week or so.

 My Salsa Recipe
5 pounds Roma Tomatoes
3 or 4 large Tomatoes
3 or 4 jalapeño peppers
2 large cubanelle peppers
½ small onion
½ bunch fresh cilantro-about 2 cups
¼ cup cider vinegar
¼ cup fresh lime juice or Nellie & Joe’s Lime Juice
¼ cup of sea salt-or a lot more salt than you think you’ll need.

Cut up tomatoes, peppers, onion, and cilantro into pieces small enough to fit into a food processor.  Pulse and mix.  I use 2 types of tomatoes so it’s not too juicy or dry.  I use a little bit of Vidalia onion otherwise the onion overpowers everything.  I seed the jalapeños after the first two. The measurements are ‘guesstimates’ as everyone’s taste differs.  We’ve made this for years, and still taste, adjust, taste, adjust.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

