Wry Exchange


Blog Tour 15 Era
07-27-08, 11:52 pm
Filed under: Home | Tags:

 Last week’s topic was “If you could live in any time period, which one would it be? And why?”  (We missed the week before.)  Easy one!  Now.  No hesitation.

  1. If I was born any earlier than 100 years ago, I’d probably die young.  My vision is 20/2500.  I can’t see two inches in front of my face.  I’m sure I’d have an accident.
  2. I enjoy electricity and running water.
  3. I prefer to think my chicken comes from the grocery store.  I don’t want to know anymore than that.
  4. No ‘happy pills’ way back when.  I probably would’ve been locked up as a crazy lady.
  5. I’m a feminist.  No way I could’ve been property of a man, or been able to subjugate myself.  See locked up crazy lady.

Look at all the the advances and new inventions in the last 40 years!  This is an exciting time to be alive.

Things that came into common usage after me:  color tv, tv remotes, boomboxes, cassette tapes, 8 track tapes, cds, home video cameras, dvds, ipods, discmans, walkmans, (I used to listen to a little AM transistor radio.) computers, internet, digital anything, microwave ovens, disposable lighters and razors, safety razors, VHS and Betamax tapes, fast food drive-thrus, cell phones, cordless phones, phones in colors other than black or ivory,  food processor,  contraceptive pills, calculators, soft and gas permeable contacts, acrylic paint, cans didn’t have pull tabs to open, plastic bottles, MRIs, barcodes, Sharpies,  calculators instead of adding machines, MS-DOS, Windows, disposable cameras, Nintendo, ATMs, kevlar, permanent pressed fabric. DNA fingerprinting, bread makers, and my beloved laptop!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

