Wry Exchange


I’m ba-ack & DS2019
07-27-08, 10:24 pm
Filed under: Exchange Students, Home, Inbounds Inbounds | Tags: , ,

 I didn’t go anywhere, I just haven’t had anything to say.  That’s never stopped me in the past, so I’ll discipline myself to write 5 posts a week.  I spent too much time building up my blog to let it slide.  Bad, lazy Wry.   Before I left to chaperone in June, I averaged over 160 daily views.  I’ve lost a lot in this last month, and it ends tonight.  If you’re reading this, THANK YOU for still peeking in on me.

I have seven students coming from Bolivia and Chile that I’ll be responsible for this year.  They should be here in two weeks, but won’t.  All of their paperwork is late.  Only one 2019 has been mailed. (Actually FedEx’d, over $50.00)  The kids need their 2019’s entered into the system to even set an appointment at the US Consulate in La Paz or Santiago.  They must appear in person in the capital city for an interview.  The interview is typically a formality for well-qualified students, but longtime readers will remember the nightmare I had last year with the ‘soft refusal.’   Suffice to say, if a student is denied a Visa, start contacting both of your Senators, and as many House Reps as possible.  (Check out posts marked ‘Eli’ or ‘Visa denial.’)   Besides my students, we have an additional 20 students from around the world this year, including five Brasilians.  That means twelve Latinos.  It’ll be a fun year.   The last of this year’s students left today.

The DS-2019 is a multi-purpose document issued by a U.S. government-approved institution (or organization) certifying that your admission into a program has been accepted and that you have demonstrated sufficient financial resources to stay in the U.S. for the length of the DS-2019 form. The DS-2019 is officially titled the “Certificate of Eligibility” because with it, you are “eligible” to apply for a J-1 visa at a U.S. embassy or consulate abroad. Your spouse or children will also each need their own DS-2019 to obtain J-2 dependent status, if desired.
Getting the DS-2019 from a U.S. school is not enough to become a legal J-1; you must also be allowed legal entry to the U.S. as an J-1, or be approved for a change of status from another type of nonimmigrant visa
How the DS-2019 is created
Once your admission into a program has been accepted, your name and other biographic information are entered into a U.S. government database called SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System). The SEVIS database processes the information and produces a “PDF” file of the DS-2019 that is sent back to the school via the internet. The school official (called the Responsible Officer) prints and signs the DS-2019 and then it is prepared for delivery to you. If an update or change information needs to be made on the DS-2019, the Responsible Officer makes these requests through SEVIS and the document can be easily reproduced
How the DS-2019 is used outside the U.S.
The DS-2019 form is used by the prospective visitor to apply for a J-1 vsia at the U.S. embassy or consulate abroad. The visa is the document needed to be allowed entry into the U.S. The DS-2019 must be presented along with the J-1 visa to a U.S. Immigration inspector upon arrival at the U.S. port-of-entry.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m glad to see you posting again. I was a little concerned you were not doing well when you went quiet. We are hosting a Brazilian boy this year after 9 Europeans. He’s really sweet and fun (ok in the 10 days he has been here, lol) and we are glad to have him. Our other boy this year is from Hungary (our 3rd in a row from that country) and he’s a good kid also.

It seems a tough year for finding host families with the people I know on and offline in exchange. I’ve already heard of 2 different orgs (not the ones we are hosting with) who are playing games with the ds2019’s. They are bringing students here for “camp” then lodging them with “coordinators” until families and school placements can be made. This seems totally against the rules my orgs have to follow of having a specific family and school placement before even issuing a ds2019 in the first place to get a visa to come here. It sure makes me wonder how some orgs manage to not follow the rules while others are following them to the letter.

So, any advice on hosting our wonderful Brazilian boy? We’ve hesitated hosting any Latin based language speakers because of our high Spanish speaking local population. I worried they would not get a true immersion in English experience if every 3rd person they run into speaks Spanish. 🙂 I know Portuguese and Spanish are not the same, but our experience hosting an Italian boy showed us the languages have enough in common to make it easier to speak the native language than English. I know it’s making it a lot easier for ME to remember the Portuguese words so far because of a passing acquaintance with Spanish and Latin. It is SURELY a lot easier than remembering Hungarian words. 🙂

Comment by ARHostmom

I’ll admit to fudging a bit with 2019’s ONLY in regards to host family. I like to get the 2019’s in the mail as soon as possible, by May 1 ideally. Sometimes, no one wants to host a particular student. (There’s always at least one unwanted childe each year-usually because of bad photos.) If I have problems finding a family, I’ll put a ‘temporary’ family’s name and address on the 2019, and continue looking for a family. As long as I have a permanent family by the time the kid gets here, I think it’s ok. SEVIS allows for ‘arrival’ families.
I don’t play games with the school. The school is the one the student will attend.
I live in a small town, and know I’ll find a place to put the kid.

Comment by Wry

Glad to see you again! I’ve learned a lot about hosting from your blog, so it would be sad to see you go…

Comment by Anonymous

Thanks! I needed to give myself a kick in the butt. But the living room has been repainted, the floor had the tiles ripped up, so the hardwood was exposed, and it’s been polyurethaned, and some other fancy painting was completed.

Comment by Wry

I hosted several exchange students for the last three years as Host family. There are few are good students in the beginning of transitions as times goes by some of them really changed afterward, I don’t recommend brazillian boys and korean, My experienced to other org. are not professional the studentrs are not taking care off . have enought of the programs

Comment by nanette




Leave a Reply

