Wry Exchange


Blogroll Addition-Exchange Student in Bolivia
09-28-08, 11:36 pm
Filed under: Culture, Exchange Students, Outbounds Outbounds | Tags: ,

 I found a new blog that I’m excited to share it with you.  FES is in Santa Cruz, Bolivia.   “Existence in the Heart of South America” is beautifully written, with a lot of detail.   I appreciate a strong point of view.  His experience in Bolivia is deeply personal, and I don’t have the same perspective. FES wrote that women drivers are rare, and that wasn’t my experience.  He writes about things I forget or don’t think to mention.  He wrote about the filth in Santa Cruz.  I forgot about how much litter there is in South America.  It’s something I just don’t notice.  (I also don’t notice dust or dirty dishes.  I can walk past clutter for months without seeing it.)  He wrote about difficulty getting time alone.  I forgot about that, too.  I need time to myself daily.  I go crazy when I have to talk to people nonstop.    Go read the blog before I just ruin it and tell you everything the kid wrote.

ETA: I removed the link.  He’s hurting people’s feelings.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Associated Internet searches landed me at your cyber doorstep just now.. Haven’t even read anything but your bio.. I’m with you 110% already.. *SERIOUSLY*..

Re the above post and without having a clue of your age but seeing you call him a “kid”, there you go when it comes to being oblivious to the “clutter”.. The depression and what not.. Guess what I mean is the “paths” it takes us to in Life.. Our priorities are very, very different from others..

We see the fragility in Life and the urgency in accomplishing the things most important NOW! It’s a very tough way to get through each day in these, our one and only Lives, but I don’t know.. The alternative is to just “be” as others are.. Eh. Not so much.. 😀

If you are actually physically in Bolivia, I would LOVE to stay in touch somehow so I don’t lose track of your real time experience there.. I’ve been scouring the Net for MONTHS now, and you’re the first person who mirrors what would likely be my own experience.. Got newsletter..? 😀

Peace and best wishes from North Georgia, USA..

Cindy Sue

Comment by Cindy Sue Causey

Hi, Cindy Sue. Nope, no newsletter. This is as much as I write. I’m not in Bolivia, but I hope to visit again within the year. I’m in Appalachia. I’m living vicariously through the students’ blogs. I’m old, in my 40’s. Hope to see your comments often.

Comment by Wry

Hey Wry.. not sure if you noticed, but the link to this blog is still in the text of your post.

Comment by hostfamily08

HF,
Yeah, I know. I left the link in the post, but in a few days it won’t be on the front page. I go back and forth. The student has a strong point of view, but needs to edit himself. Before he finds himself back home.

Comment by Wry

Hi, Wry..

Got to come back to visit.. 🙂

I’ll have to find a way to get your writing to deliver itself into my inbox, then.. I’m over 40, shoo’, way over, with things lately being mostly remembered when they plant themselves right smack in front of my face.. :))

Can’t BELIEVE how much information is coming in about Bolivia these days.. Just a few short months ago, one was lucky to have a few articles a week show up.. These days, GOODNESS gracious.. It’s amazing..

Hope everyone is well.. Please stay toasty warm..

Cindy Sue 🙂

Comment by wisp-o'-the-will

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Comment by апартамент за продажба




Leave a Reply

