Wry Exchange


I’m Alive. Happy Thanksgiving
11-28-08, 12:18 am
Filed under: Culture, Outbounds Outbounds | Tags: ,

  Hi.  Miss me?  I was appointed as our outgoing students’ coordinator last month.  We held their interviews this weekend. We interviewed 30, and I think all but 3 will be accepted.   In that month, I set a date, time, and location for interviews.  I rounded up 35 people to interview the potentials, and a few other people to assist with registration.  I had to set up an email list for the volunteers from scratch, and try to help our current students abroad.  All without losing my sanity.

I’m out of the habit of writing now.  I must start again.  I’ve been answering emails from students around the world.  This is a hard time of year for FESs.   In the Southern Hemisphere, students are graduating, and they’re on Summer break.   Up North, the days are short.  Most students are homesick and a bit lost this time of year.  If you know a FES, give her a hug.

I sent quick notes to my kids.  One was watching the Macy’s parade on her laptop.  Her family turned their webcam to the TV.  Several shopped for traditional Thanksgiving ingredients to cook for their host families.  In many places, that’s not an easy task.  Some of the lucky ones went to group Thanksgiving dinners for FESs and expats.  Last year, I had to buy a pyrex pie plate to make pumpkin pie.  I brought the canned pumpkin with me to Bolivia.  In the past, I’ve made chocolate chip cookies without a cookie sheet-we used some type of drip pan for the broiler.  We’ve made brownies in iron skillets.   They may not be pretty, but when you’re far from home, chocolate tastes GOOD.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, I am an Australian Mum whose daughter is on an exchange in Italy for a year (with another program). Just wanted to say I have found you blogs very entertaining but also very informative. Look forward to reading more.

Comment by Cathy

Cathy, Thanks for the comment. I have writer’s block lately. Sayyyyyyyyyyy, how do you know it’s different program? I haven’t mentioned my program on here.

Comment by Wry




Leave a Reply

