Wry Exchange


Cocktail Party Chatter
12-26-08, 1:49 am
Filed under: Home | Tags:

 It’s party time in America!   If you’re running out of dinner conversation, check out these websites.  In 15 minutes, you’ll be ready to discuss pop culture, current events, and new movies

   Today’s Papers from Slate.com   It’s the Cliffs Notes version of  The New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times, and USA Today.   I have it sent to my inbox daily.  It’s a great way to keep on top of important stories.

The Movie Spoiler.com lets me know about current movies.  The last movie we saw in a theater was The Dark Knight.   I want to join in when people are discussing current films, so I read synopses online.    Gran Torino sounds better than I thought, and Seven Pounds is one I know I won’t ever watch.

Jezebelis for women.  It covers gossip, best of last night’s tv, fashion, feminist issues, premieres, photoshopping, politics, and a little of everything else.

What else I like about these sites is their stickiness.  Slate has so much going on,  I can spend time reading about wines, travel, technology, international news, blogs, poems, photography exhibits, and politics.    Jezebel posts all day long.  If I have time I’ll go back and read 3 or 4 pages.   The Movie Spoiler has a huge archive of movies to read through.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

