Wry Exchange


More Living Differences Between Chile & USA
05-07-09, 10:45 pm
Filed under: Culture, Home

 I wrote this while I was in Chile last week.   It goes well with my earlier ‘living differences’ posts.

More random differences:
Cutting sandwiches with knife and fork; then eating with a fork. 
Peeling tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, and de-stringing celery.  (Peeling tomatoes just kills me.  I love tomato peels.)
Using good china daily.  Using chargers under dinner plates.  No paper plates,  ever.
Place mats under everything.  Place mats removed and put away after each meal.
Putting chips in a china bowl, and dip in another bowl for 2 people casually snacking in a kitchen. 
Glass glasses, not plastic glasses unless for a small child.
Beef tastes different to me.  It’s tough, chewy, and tastes strong.  The cuts are completely different, to me it looks like random chunks are hacked off.  It seems a lot closer to nature than to a supermarket.
Filling glasses between 1/3 to 1/2 full.   no free refills.  
order water, and you will be asked ‘con gas’, ‘light gas,’ or ‘sin gas.’   Sin gas is regular water, bottled water
No pepper on the table, just salt, at home and in most restaurants.  salty salt.
Starbucks are easily found, as are local cafes and coffee shops.   My Starbucks name is really funny and creative. I should’ve just said ‘Gringa.’
Good thing I slurped my Te Verde Frappaccinno quickly.  We had a secondary baggage check on the jet-way.  All liquids were confiscated.  I had a little left, but I was dehydrated and they took my 2 bottles of water I bought after the security checkpoint.  I couldn’t read much of the sign, but it started ‘Effective immediately no liquids may be brought on-board.’
Real coffee can now be easily purchased in Chile, but Nescafe is still the typical Chilean choice.
All cakes are called ‘torta’ not just tortes.
Chile has 6 or 7 different types of avocado.  They each taste different.  All I ever see are the Haas ones, and the smooth, shiny ones.  We’ll have an avocado taste test sometime.
Salt over everything.  lots of it.  
Milk and cream are sold in aseptic, shelf stable packaging.
All over Chile, in new and old homes and departementos, all TP went into the  T.  Annually, returning Outbounds tell me they flushed tp everywhere all year.  Either they clogged pipes all year, or held it. 🙂
Bathtubs are smaller, and higher off the floor.  After showering, I always am afraid of skidding with my first foot on the tile and doing a face plant.  Most tubs have adhesive appliques on the bottom so people don’t slide while showering.   Oh, no washcloths.  I looked at department, grocery, and home stores, no washcloths.  I found buffing gloves, net scrub puffs, and best of all, a nylon scrubby.  The same ones I use to wash dishes at home.  One side is a sponge, the other side has the scratchier, pot-scrubber material.  I had to buy it.  It was only about a quarter. It made me giggle.
Elite brand purse pack facial tissues are scented.  Cool scents, not like the menthol ones here.  I bought Cucumber Melon, Coconut Lime, Lavender, and ?   Other scents included Grape, Vanilla, Watermelon, Apple,  and
Aloe Vera.  
Chocolate is a popular choice for shampoo, conditioner, soaps, and bath gel.  Each brand smells a bit different.
Chile still has pharmacies separated out from other stores.  All drugs are kept behind the counter,  including Advil.  You can’t buy OTC pills on supermarket shelves.  You must tell the pharmacy clerk what you want, or what symptoms you have, and they go get it.  I wanted sore throat drops.  I was given some with honey. 
They soothed my throat, but didn’t/t help the cough.  The first 3 ingredients were sugar, sugar, honey.  I saw no ‘medical’ ingredients.  I asked about Hall’s brand, and was told it’s just candy.  Um, yeah, but so’s the honey stuff.  Hall’s are available at candy counters and grocery stores in a myriad of flavors.  I prefer creamy strawberry, creamy berry, and morell.
I didn’t see any curling irons, but lots of flat irons.
Schoolgirls no longer wear Doc Martens with their uniforms. Black Mary Janes with a crepe sole seem to be popular.  They’re worn with tights and matching knee socks. 
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

